Sand Volleyball

We started our sand volleyball league lastnight and it was COLD.  It felt like we were walking on snow.  At the beginning we were all complaining because our feet were freezing, then hurting, but then we all seemed to warm up by the time they went numb.  It took a couple hours to feel normal again.  I’m sorry to say that we lost our first match; however, by the third game we played very well and I do see some hope for the season.  We had our neighbor, Chanda, and her daughter, Maddie, watch Jaxson for us.  They had a wonderful time and want to come back and do it again next week.  Today, Heath and one of his co-workers stopped by since they were in our area.  I was still in my pajamas and cleaning our bathroom, so he got to see me at my absolute best.  He played with Jaxson for awhile and I got to have some adult conversation, so it was a win-win for both of us.  Burn update on Jaxson:  The burns are coming along nicely.  He is being a very good little boy and letting us do the dressing changes on him twice a day.  I was able to change the dressing this afternoon very easily by myself because he just held his arm out for me and didn’t move.  I’m hoping that he will come out of this without any scars, but I’m not so sure that’s going to happen.

Mommy doing a dressing change
“Just workin’ on my tan”

“Yes, I got up here all by myself”

“Mommy, can we go outside?”
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tanya
    May 17, 2007 @ 22:24:24

    What a good little patient! At least it’s not slowing him down. Looks like you’re going to have to “baby proof” your house!

    Reply

  2. Belinda
    May 18, 2007 @ 17:23:50

    When my brother was like 2 he put his hand flat against one of those old fashioned heaters and burnt his hand really bad! He blistered and popped immediately and it was worse than Jaxson’s. He’s fine and had no scars to this day. In fact, it was completely healed within a few months. No signs of the accident. I don’t know why I remember that like I do. Maybe because it was SO traumatic seeing that happen to my little brother at the time. Jaxson will be fine I have a feeling. He’s got good home health care with 2 very personal and experienced nurses! What more could he want?
    B

    Reply

Leave a Reply

