Busy Busy Busy!

That explains the past few days around our house.  Let’s see, I’m going to start with what’s been going on since last Friday.  Last Friday night we went over to our friends’ Jason, Brandy, & Anya McArtor’s in Pleasant Hill.  Jason grilled up pork loin for about 30 people and we had a great time sitting around and talking with friends and watching all of the kids play.  We couldn’t stay as long as I would have liked since I had to work in the morning. Work this weekend was very different.  For you nurses that read this you will understand what I mean when I say that we have some very heavy patients right now.  I have worked on North 6 for 7 1/2 years and this is the highest acquity of patients that I have seen on our floor. Of our 24 patients that we had when I left Sunday, 11 of them were on TPN and 17 of them had central lines (that is a lot).  That means that they are S-I-C-K.  One cool thing that happened at work was that I got to take care of this man that used to be a bodyguard for Elvis. . . yes Elvis! He had pictures to prove it.  One picture had my patient, Elvis, and Muhammad Ali in it.  Elvis gave him some pretty neat things like an engraved gold-plated pistol, which he got for protecting him from some maniac that tried to test Elvis’ karate at a concert in Vegas.  Did you know that Elvis had his ninth-degree black belt in karate, which made him a Master?  Elvis also gave him a gold ring and necklace.  At Elvis’ funeral, my patient just had to show the necklace at the door and he was let right in.  My patient also did bodyguard work for Wayne Newton, Liza Minelli, and Barbara Striesand (which he did not like at all; I guess she was not a very nice person).  On Sunday, Grandpa and Grandma Cathcart came down to see the boys.  They played with Jaxson so Brad could get the house ready for the Soprano series finale.  We had everyone over to our house for pizza.  I have to say that I was quite disappointed with the way that the show ended.  It really didn’t end; they kept us hanging.  With the way that it ended they better do a movie to tie up all of the loose ends or I am going to feel like I wasted my Sunday nights for the past several years. Brad took this whole week off of work so we are staying busy by working on our landscaping outside.  Kris came down today and really helped us out.  I have to admit that I am not a Mrs. Greenthumb, but luckily my mom and mother-in-law both are.  Today we worked on the front yard and got it all done.  It looks so much nicer than what we had before.  My mom is coming down tomorrow to help us do more.

“Are the cupcakes done yet?”
Just loungin’ at the BBQ
Chad & Jodi Airhart and Ben Warrick
“Mom, HELP!  Jodi’s gonna get me!”
Tired Baby
“I’ll read my book to you, Grandpa”
Jaxson watching us do landscaping
Before
After
3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brandy McArtor
    Jun 13, 2007 @ 11:53:19

    The landscaping looks great…lots of hard work. If you hostas you are wanting to get rid of, let me know…I will take a few.

    Reply

  2. Erika Holmes
    Jun 13, 2007 @ 17:23:51

    Nice work on the landscaping. We are doing that next on our list. I can’t wait to see y’all while we are in Iowa. We need to make plans so our cutie-pa-tootie boys can play together.

    Reply

  3. Tanya Winter
    Jun 14, 2007 @ 00:44:25

    Landscaping looks good. Very different from before! Can’t wait to see the backyard.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

