What’s Happening

Well, the weekend has come and gone again.  Work went very well for me this weekend and it was nice getting off on time considering the bad weather that we were having.  Saturday night was not very fun driving home.  The roads weren’t that bad, it was the rain that froze to the windshield that made it hard to see.  Brad was looking forward to taking Jaxson outside to play in the snow for the first time on Saturday, but Jaxson has come down with another cold (or something else, I’m not sure yet what it is).  As a result of this last illness, Brad and I have sworn off play areas at the malls.  I think that almost everytime he has been to the play areas, he comes down with some kind of illness within a few days.  So the boys were stuck inside all weekend so Daddy could continue to play nurse at home. Last night Jaxson woke up with a temp of 102.5, so we may be making a trip to the Dr. in the near future. 

Only 15 days until Christmas!  I swear that it comes faster and faster every year.  As always, we are very excited to spend the time with our families and start our own traditions with the three of us.  I think this year is the earliest that I’ve ever been done with Christmas shopping. . . and it feels good.  Everything is wrapped and ready to go.  As our family has been growing, I’ve been trying to get the gift giving toned down a little bit because it’s getting quite expensive and I think that we are starting to lose the true meaning of Christmas.  I went to the dentist last week and I was talking to my hygienist and she was telling me that her and her husband only get their two kids three presents each.  She has always told them, "If three presents were enough for Jesus, then three presents are enough for you."  I love that and plan to use that in the future.  So with that in mind, I told Brad not to spend too much on me this year because we could put the money towards Jaxson (like everything else).  So what does he do?  He spoils some of my Christmas present by telling me that we have to go get passports.  WHAT????  Yeah, I was shocked.  His reasoning for taking me out of the country is because Jaxson and I will be couped up in the house all winter and probably going a little nuts, so he thinks that I will need a break.  He won’t tell me where we are going, but he has told me that it’s hot and it’s the newest hot spot island that he’s never even heard of.  So stay tuned for the conclusion of this one.    

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tanya
    Dec 11, 2007 @ 03:37:18

    Ha, Ha! I know where you are going…and I’ve never heard of it either! I hope it’s a real place?!

    Reply

  2. Erika Holmes
    Dec 13, 2007 @ 00:50:34

    Wow! Done with presents and going abroad. Consider me completly jealous!! Love the 3 presents thing. I’m going to try to talk John D. in to that next year!

    Reply

  3. Brandy
    Dec 17, 2007 @ 01:34:03

    I’m still guessing an island off of Brazil. But I have no reason for that. I’m DYING to know. Maybe Brad will tell me if I beg…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

