Deceptively Delicious

For Christmas I asked for Jessica Seinfeld’s (Jerry’s wife) new cookbook called "Deceptively Delicious."  It’s a how-to book on pureeing veggies and putting them into food that you would never think of putting them in.  I wanted to start doing this because Jaxson is not keen on veggies.  I try to sneak them into things but he just finds them and picks them out or spits ’em out.  I have now made two recipes with pureed carrots and they have turned out fabulous.  The first thing that I made was applesauce muffins and I think that these are going to be my new breakfast favorite, but do you think that I can get Jaxson to eat one. . . NOT! Tonight, I made italian meatloaf, which was a big hit with Brad, but once again, Jaxson refused.  The great thing about these recipes is that they are all-around good for you.  So I guess I’m doing it for the whole fam and not just Jaxson.  Her recipes use 100% whole wheat products, flaxseed, veggies, and low fat products.  So if you can’t tell already, I highly recommend her cookbook. 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Brandy
    Jan 04, 2008 @ 18:07:50

    I’m really glad to hear you are liking the book! I think I’ll have to pick up a copy of my own. But it’s a total bummer that Jaxson is not taking to the recipes, since that was the point in the first place! Maybe if you keep making and offering them, eventually he’ll come around. Hmm, kids are too smart sometimes. The Fresh Daisy cookbook I got from a friend, that I showed you, is okay, but I’m finding it difficult to use. She’s British so the recipes use measurements in GRAMS (what??), though she tries to convert them to ounces. Still, I need good old measurements in cups and teaspoons. She only writes each recipe for 1 serving, too. Um, no. If I’m going to the trouble to make a 3 fish casserole, it will be for 12 servings or something. But I’m trying.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

