Our Night In The ER

Ever since we’ve gotten back from Punta Cana, I’ve had a “stomach bug.”  I’ve been able to tolerate it and I was even able to go to work this weekend and not have it really affect me.  I talked to one of our resident doctors about it at work and he gave me a prescription for an antibiotic; however, when I got off of work my pharmacy was closed and I felt just fine so I thought that it could wait until the morning.  I guess I was wrong.  At midnight, I woke up with the worst pain I’ve ever had in my life.  It was even worse than giving birth!  After getting up and walking around a little bit, I decided to wake Brad to take me to the hospital.  So we loaded up Bubbie, who was a super trooper through this whole ordeal, and went to the ER.  After sitting in the waiting room for maybe 10-15 minutes in the fetal position, I decided that I couldn’t wait any longer.  I paged our surgical resident myself from my cell phone and he called me back immediately.  Luckily he was already in the ER, so he came and got me right away and took me back to a room.  It’s nice to have connections like that!  It literally felt like something in my abdomen was going to burst at any moment.  And with me being a GI nurse, I see all of the consequences of that and didn’t want to experiece that.  I got a CT of the abdomen, which showed that the wall of my colon is thickened, which pretty much means that I have a bacterial infection in the colon, ulcerative colitis, or Crohn’s disease.  So far we are taking the first option since it makes the most sense and I don’t even want to think about having one of the other two.  So for now I’m on antibiotics and clear liquids and praying that that takes care of it. What a fun weekend!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mindy
    Feb 04, 2008 @ 22:49:53

    What great connections you have, they really came in handy! Hopefully you find something out soon and aren’t in pain. Keep us posted, we’ll be thinking of you.

    Reply

  2. Tanya
    Feb 05, 2008 @ 04:02:45

    Hope you are feeling better. Glad you were able to get 1st class treatment. Ick, what a crappy way to spend your weekend after work. I sure hope that medicine works…you probably got something crazy from the Dominican Republic. Keep me posted!

    Reply

  3. Brandy
    Feb 05, 2008 @ 17:10:57

    oh man, that sounds horrible! and yes it is great you have those connections and can get more immediate attention. i’m hoping it’s the first option also. are you feeling better? tell me you didn’t eat anything from a street vendor in the D.R. heehee–just kidding, i know you wouldn’t have 🙂

    Reply

  4. Erika Holmes
    Feb 05, 2008 @ 17:36:59

    So sorry to hear that you got so sick, Stephie. That sucks. Hope you get to feeling better soon!!!

    Reply

  5. Belinda
    Feb 07, 2008 @ 19:50:10

    I must have missed this post! I’m so sorry you were so sick. That’s no fun. I know how liquids suck! Hang in there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

