Terrible Twos!

AHHHHHH, my child has officially hit the terrible twos and he’s not even two yet.  Jaxson has been a very good child since the day he was born, but he’s really starting to test my patience.  He still is a very good child. . . most of the time; however, he has his moments of drop-to-the-floor tantrums that are becoming more frequent.  I think the people that drive along Prairieview Dr. think I’m probably the worst mother ever because they typically see me standing by Jaxson as he is laying on the sidewalk bawling, rolling around, and kicking his legs.  This will happen at least twice a day and of course it’s always in a very high traffic area where everyone can watch.  To the typical person it would appear that he’s just fallen down and is crying and his bad mother is just standing there doing nothing when what really happened was that I wouldn’t let Jaxson keep crossing the street over and over again for no reason other than to cross the street. . . I know, I’m mean.  So tonight, my brother invites us out to Granite City for supper and I wasn’t too worried because Jaxson is usually very well behaved at restaurants.  It started off with him absolutely refusing to sit in the highchair, so he ate his supper on my lap.  The bad thing was was that he was done eating way before we got our food, so of course he was ready to go as soon as he was done.  He has never acted as naughty as he did tonight and I had one of those moments as a mother who is completely embarassed by her child.  I suppose we will stick to delivery or carry out from now on.

My sweet angel
Swinging on the big boy swing at Aunt Tanya’s house
Jaxson LOVES motorcycles so Tanya’s neighbor let him try out the hog.
5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Uncle Heath
    May 10, 2008 @ 04:44:36

    Steph your a great mommy.No need to be embarrassed. We have all seen tons of kids that are way out of control.Jaxson is not even close to that. Stay strong sister.

    Reply

  2. Belinda
    May 11, 2008 @ 01:24:26

    Oh boy do I remember feeling that same way for the first time when Avery did that at a restaurant. Never thinking I’d ever get to go out in public again with my child. It doesn’t get better for a while hate to say. I stuck to delivery and carry out for a while too. And I hate to tell you this but kids feed into each other too so when one of mine is acting bad, the others start to test me at the same time. Usually because I end up agreeing to something in that weak moment when I don’t even realize what one has asked me. When you are in a situation like this, just remember that old saying, “This too shall pass.” And it does. He’s not testing YOU as a mommy. He’s testing his independence. He wants to be a big boy and when you stand in his way to protect him because you obviously know what is right and wrong and he doesn’t, he’s gonna throw a fit. Jaelyn still does it at 7! Keep praying for patience. I have God on speed dial for that specific request!! HE HE! It’s not funny but it’s fun to see I’m not alone on this one either. Hang in there.
    Belinda

    Reply

  3. Aunt Tanya
    May 11, 2008 @ 04:03:09

    No need to be embarrassed. Jaxson is a very good boy and he was just testing you. Having a 9 year old…sorry to say, it doesn’t change. They will always test your patience and their independence. Any parent knows that that is normal and you handled it the best that you could. You guys just need to find some good babysitters, so we can still all go out sometime…or we can get carry out.:)

    Reply

  4. Erika Holmes
    May 13, 2008 @ 14:44:49

    Welcome to the toddler club, my friend! No one thinks you’re a bad mom, I promise. Anyone who has spent any time at all with a 2-year-old knows about the on the floor tantrums. Just be glad it’s only twice a day!!! Hang it there.

    Reply

  5. Miriam
    May 15, 2008 @ 23:58:49

    Oh Stephanie, I just laughed as I read your blog only because it sounds so familiar to our house right now! We are also wondering what has happened to our sweet and agreeable little daughter now that everything feels like a battle and tears seem more normal than smiles these days! I’ll keep you in our prayers and you’re welcome to do the same for us! 🙂 As someone else already said and my mother-in-law reminds me also “This too shall pass!” Although I hope very quickly in both of our houses!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

