The Little Hawks Daycare

How do you like the name of my new business?  Yep, that’s right.  I’m starting my own in-home daycare.  After working weekends only at the hospital for 1 1/2 years now, I’m ready to have my weekends back with my family.  I’m not quitting the hospital completely, I will still work as needed.  I have to work one shift a month to “keep my foot in the door.”  I will never be able to leave nursing, as it is my 2nd passion, behind motherhood. I told my boss that I will probably be back to full time nursing once I get my kids in school.  But for now, this is what I want to do.  I’ve been thinking about this for a while now and I thought that since we are finishing off our basement, I better talk to Brad about it now and see what he thought of it so that we could make any changes before it gets completely done.  At first he was kind of hesitant, but then we thought about it long and hard and weighed our pros and cons for about two weeks and decided that it would be worth a shot. Even before I was 100% on my decision, I had friends telling me that they would bring their kids to my home.  I actually have one starting tomorrow. Since I’ve made this decision, I’ve been doing a lot of looking on the internet and talking to people and I didn’t realize how many people are looking for in-home daycares.  I don’t anticipate having any trouble filling up and I would think that with me being a mother and a Registered Nurse, that might help a little. Jaxson and I went to our friends, Amanda and Grady’s house today because Amanda runs an in-home daycare.  I had a ton of questions for her and I just wanted to see how she did things with five kids running around.  It wasn’t near as crazy or loud as I thought it would be.  She made it look quite easy.  Now I know it’s not going to be easy, but I just don’t want it out of control.  So wish me luck on this new adventure and please pray for my sanity.

Here’s a pic for Grandma Kathy and Grandma Pam to display at work.
5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Belinda
    Jun 12, 2008 @ 13:20:00

    So I take it Cyclone fans are not welcome? I think that’s great you are doing this for your family. You will love having all that time with Jaxson and having your weekends with your husband and family. You won’t miss out on all those trips to see your parents or Brad’s. Sounds like you have a great opportunity, yours for the taking! You have so many friends too that have small children. Best of luck! Let me know how it goes!

    Reply

  2. Brandy McArtor
    Jun 12, 2008 @ 14:37:20

    Congrats and best of luck on your new adventure. LOVE the name by the way…..

    Reply

  3. Aunt Tanya
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 00:23:21

    I like the name even though I’m not a Hawks fan…it is very cute! You will do a great job with those kids and the parents will be very lucky to have you watching over their children. Good luck and have fun with it!!

    Reply

  4. Uncle Heath
    Jun 13, 2008 @ 03:31:29

    What do you mean “once i get my KIDS in school?” Something in the oven that we are not a wear of?

    Reply

  5. Brandy
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 01:13:01

    I will definitely keep your sanity in mind; especially since Jack will be on your new plate of kids 🙂 I think you are a courageous, crazy woman, but this is going to be great for me, so selfishly I say, “You go Girl”!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

