My Last Weekend At Work

I am officially done with my 12-hour shifts on the weekends at the hospital!! Yes, I am excited about this.  We had another good weekend at work.  My student, Katie, was done on Saturday with her 172 hours.  I was sad to see her leave and how dare she leave me after being my sidekick and doing most all of my work for a couple months now.  That left me to do all of my work on my last day.  I am happy to report that I did survive, but barely.  Late afternoon on Sunday, they called a tornado warning at the hospital.  At first I thought it was a drill because the last time that I had looked outside it was very nice out.  So I looked out the window and saw the black skies to the north and figured that it probably wasn’t a drill.  So that meant that we had to get all of the patients out into the hallway until they called the all-clear, which ended up being an hour later.  That always makes for an interesting evening.  I’m also happy to report that with all of the heavy rain, our basement held up very nicely.  Not a single drop of water was found.  Heath is moving right along on the basement.  All four walls are now up and I believe that he is ready to put the texture on tomorrow.  Brad and I have been out most evenings looking for stuff to put in our basement, i.e a flat-screen TV and a leather couch to go with it.  I will be glad when it is all done.   We are looking forward to going up to Hubbard this weekend.  My mom and Mike are having their annual summer party, which is always fun.  We will also be seeing my Aunt Patty who will be coming in from Oregon on Wednesday.  We haven’t seen her since Heath and Tanya’s wedding.  I’m sure we will have a lot of good pictures to post when we get back.

Jaxson got to play in the sprinkler for the first time last week.  He LOVED it!  I think it’s a bigger hit than the pool.
He had to clean off all of his toys in the sprinkler.
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brandy CH
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 19:12:40

    Yeah for your last weekend at work! Now you can relax more and have more family and friend time on the weekends. We’ll look forward to having you around more for playdates at the aquatic center, neighborhood potlucks, and regular wagon rides đŸ™‚ Speaking of neighborhood potlucks, will you be back this weekend for the 5pm Sunday one?

    Reply

  2. Erika Holmes
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 20:47:46

    Congrats on being done with working weekends!! Looks like Jaxson loves the sprinkler as much as Barrett. Are you getting ready for his 2nd birthday bash yet?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

