A Successful Weekend

We’ve been getting ready for our garage sale for so long now, I was hoping that it would all be worth it. . . and it was.  We had a HUGE turnout!  It started on Friday evening when we opened the garage up for a couple hours.  Despite the rain, people still came out and bought our junk, mostly our big stuff.  Saturday morning, I got up early and started setting up again.  Brad left for the Iowa game real early also, so he wasn’t around to help.  Luckily, Andy came down to help me out and also my friend, Sharon, who also brought a ton of baby girl stuff and other baby items, which really brought the crowd in. My neighbor boy and his friend also came over to help.  Between the five of us, we were all VERY busy.  It got so crazy that at several times in the morning when I was sitting at the back of the garage, there were so many people in there that I couldn’t even see outside.  It’s crazy what people will buy, but I’m glad they did and I’m glad that it’s over.  There was one lady that came and shopped and asked me if we would consider donating what was left over of the girl’s and women’s clothes to the Children and Families of Iowa.  I believe that she volunteers there and she said that when she was there last, they hardly had any little girls clothes, so I did end up dropping off several boxes of what was left.  The rest of our weekend was very nice.  My dad and Brenda came down Saturday evening on their way back from Omaha.  They helped me box up what little was leftover from the sale and just hung out for a while.  Today, we went to church and then to our neighborhood potluck at the park this evening.  We had a great time and it seems to be getting bigger each time we go.  I think there were around eight families there with all of our kids.  The kids had a great time playing together.  It’s so nice to have that many families within a block of each other.

Jaxson liked to ride his batmobile in between the tables.  Pretty much everything pictured here is gone.  YEAH!
Miah and Jaxson taking a break from playing

Jack was sporting a new adorable spikey hair-do
I bought Jaxson an Elmo potty seat today and he LOVES to sit on it.
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Brandy
    Sep 10, 2008 @ 00:54:06

    so glad all your stuff went–that gives me renewed hope in garage sales! i love the potty seat. hope both boys catch onto that, though i imagine we still have a long road ahead of us… !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

