My Smart Sister

Grandma Pam came down yesterday to go to Brandon’s appointment with him and also to watch Jaxson while I went and saw a neurologist.  I don’t remember if I’ve blogged about my headaches before, but to make a long story short, I’ve had weird, painful headaches since June.  I’ve had many many headaches before, but like I told Tanya and Brad, these were more like head pains rather than headaches and they were only on my left side.  I had Tanya work on me a few times to try and get rid of some of the tension in my neck, which she did, but the headaches continued.  She explained to me that my pain was probably from the occipital nerve being irritated so it was sending sharp, shooting pains up the nerve to the top of my head.  I decided to go see a neurologist because after all of the tension and neck pain was gone, the headaches were still there.  So after talking to Dr. Hanson for a while and doing some tests, he said that I have greater occipital neuralgia, which is exactly what Tanya said I had.  So he gave me a nice steroid injection at the base of my head.  I hope this works, but if not, I guess I can just ask Tanya what to do next. 

I also took Jaxson into the Dr. today because of this "cold" he’s had for over a week now and it only seems to be getting worse.  It turns out that he has bronchitis, so he’s now on some antibiotics and a steroid.  Gotta love this time of year.

Jaxson and Grandma playing trucks.
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Claybuster
    Nov 27, 2008 @ 23:21:38

    my wife suffered from occipital neuralgia and has recently gone through occipital decompression. so far it as really helped. with time, we hope they will be gone completely. the doctor was pamala blake in houston texas.

    Reply

  2. Brandy
    Nov 29, 2008 @ 21:19:29

    Wow, I’m glad it sounds like something they hope to treat. I hope the steroid works! Good thing you have a smart sister and a neuro-nurse nearby!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

