Valentine’s Week Events

Our Valentine’s weekend started off just lovely with another big snowfall.  Just when we were excited about seeing grass again, we get hammered with at least another five inches. . . thank you mother nature!  Brad and I had a blast getting to and from work, which usually takes 10-15 minutes depending on the traffic, but took us both 45 minutes since we had to dodge some accidents on the way.  Oh well, I guess there’s nothing we can do about it.  I had a wierd schedule at work this weekend, working Friday and Sunday nights.  I was worried how this might work out with my sleeping schedule.  I actually enjoyed it; it kind of felt like I had the weekend off since I was off from Saturday morning until Sunday night.  On Saturday for Valentine’s Day, we did our usual of ordering take out.  We like to stay away from the restaurants since they are crazy.  We got some yummy pasta from Felix & Oscars and enjoyed it at home with Bubbie.  With working the different nights at work also allows us to go to church as a family, which was great.  Jaxson LOVES going to church; it’s so cute.  He even asks if “Pipi Mike” (Pastor Mike) is going to be there.  I hope that it stays that way with him because as I remember as a child, I wasn’t ever excited about going to church, but this church is just a TAD bit different than the one that I grew up in.  This past week we have also been on the search for a gym membership, so we have been checking out gyms close to us.  We checked out Prairie Life, which was awesome, but considerably more expensive than other places.  We also went to the Waukee YMCA, which was also great, but not near as big or had as many machines or the room that Prairie Life does; however, they are currently building a new Y that is going to be three times as big as the current one.  Surprisingly, I liked the pool at the Y better.  It is geared more for kids.  They also gave us a one week free membership so we could check it out.  We have taken Jaxson once and he loved it, so I’m betting that we will end up at the Y.  I am excited that this will give Jaxson and me something different to do during the day and hopefully it will get me out of this rut of the winter blues.  Jaxson’s speech has also grown by leaps and bounds just in the past week.  Brad and I can’t believe how much he is saying.  Just in the past couple of days he has grown very interested in the ABC’s, so we have really been concentrating on learning more letters.  He really surprised me when he sang the ABC’s with us and chimed in on half of the letters.  That tells me once again that he is probably listening to us and retaining more than what I think he is.  I didn’t have any new pictures from this week, so I just snuck into his room and snapped one of him sleeping.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. steve cathcart
    Feb 16, 2009 @ 22:24:08

    Looks like little Bradley sleeping

    Reply

Leave a Reply

