What A Garage Sale

Yesterday was the official start of my garage sale season.  YEAH!!!  After having Jaxson, I have become a garage sale freak!  I have realized that it’s not worth spending the money on brand new things when they use them or play with them for such a short time.  Our church had a huge sale this weekend.  When I say huge, I mean seven semis full of stuff packed into our church.  It started at noon yesterday and we got there at 12:15.  Let’s just say that it was insane.  I had to park as far out in the parking lot that is possible and it took me ten minutes to go about ten yards once I got inside the church.  They even handed you a color-coded map of where things were when you walked in the door.  I originally had planned to check out everything, but then my goal was ultimately just to get to the gym where the kids stuff was.  I did make it and came out with four pairs of shoes, some clothes, and of course a new train.  All for a whopping $3.75.  Then today, I went back to volunteer, which was a lot of fun.  I couldn’t believe it when I walked in today.  All they had left was one room full of stuff and a few large items left.  We estimated that 90% of it was gone yesterday.  The last $ total that I heard was at 5:00 pm yesterday, they had raised over $20,000.  Now the great thing about this is, 100% of the profits go to five local missions in DM.  The church is not keeping anything.  Praise the Lord for also loving garage sales like I do!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sue Dubberke
    Mar 10, 2009 @ 03:27:16

    Thank you Stephanie for helping with this wonderful project and MANY thanks to your church. Lutheran Services in Iowa was one of the non-profits you were donating to. I want to extend a big thanks from all of us at LSI.
    God Bless all of you. Sue

    Reply

  2. Uncle Heath
    Mar 10, 2009 @ 03:58:23

    Correction- Lutheran Social Services is in Ames

    Reply

Leave a Reply

