Weekend In Review

WOW, what a crazy weekend.  On Friday, we went to Hubbard because my mom and Mike were having their annual summer party on Saturday.  A lot of my family started celebrating early on Friday night since it was such nice weather.  We sat outside most of the evening and did some prep work for Sat, which included putting up three tarps/gazebos.  Well, little did we know that it was supposed to storm that night because on Saturday morning when we woke up, all three of them were down and mom’s new gazebo had already broken.  It turned out to be too windy on Sat. to put them up anyways, but it stinks that she never even got to use her new one.  We had a great time at the party with all of the family.  I counted about 50 people that were there throughout the day.  The kids had a blast playing in the pool and the adults had a great time sitting around watching the kids and drinking.  I had to be a party pooper and leave early so that I could get back to go to work.  The boys came back later with Tanya and Heath.  On Sunday when I woke up, Brad told me that I better check to see what was going on in Eldora because he had heard that some severe storms had come through and slammed into Eldora, which is where my grandma and two uncles live.  Mom called me shortly thereafter and told me that the town was a disaster.  My uncle Randy’s siding is all gone, along with most of his windows and all of his trees.  My grandma faired pretty well with only losing a window.  I guess that’s what 70 mph winds will do with four inch hail.  I talked to my mom again tonight and she had just gotten back from day #2 of clean up and said that she had to be out of the town by 8 pm because there is a curfew in place because it’s still so dangerous and they don’t want looters.  What a mess!  We got lucky here and only had one piece of our siding come off.  Anyways, Brad and Jaxson spent their Sunday evening at Andy and Mindy’s for supper.  Steve and Kris came down too.  The original plan was to bring the boat down and take it for a ride, but with the weather the way it was, that wasn’t going to happen.

Cowboy Jaxson

Jaxson helping Nana put up the tarps.

Tiffany and Jaxson taking a break from swimming to have a snack.

Having a drink with Great Uncle Randy at the bar.

Mom and Mike

My cousin Jamie and Aunt Patty here from Idaho and Oregon for a couple weeks.

Mom’s ready to get in the pool.

Here’s trouble!

Nana Kris and Jaxson

Tired Brady

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Brandy
    Aug 11, 2009 @ 21:35:24

    looks like fun! glad the weather panned out for the actual party– what a mess in eldora!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

