My Discussion With An OB

Dr. Hoegh called me at home today to talk about my situation and whether I should do a C-section or natural birth and what would be the safest for me.  First of all, I have to say how impressed I am with him.  I’ve only heard good things about him before, but now I love him myself.  After reading through my chart, he decided that we could probably discuss everything over the phone, rather than me coming in for an actual appointment.  I didn’t even think that doctor’s did this anymore.  This saved me a copay, a trip to Ankeny, and having to find a sitter for Jaxson.  Triple bonus!!!  So his recommendations were that I get another ultrasound at 37 weeks to see how big this baby is.  If they think he is going to be >9 lbs at full term, then he recommends just doing a C-section to prevent a reoccurance of my last delivery.  Now if I was a betting woman, I would not bet that this child will be 9 lbs or bigger.  So I hope to go with option #2.  If he is <9 lbs, then he recommends doing an induction no later than 39 weeks with an epidural.  This would allow us to have more control over the situation and the epidural would hopefully make things go a little slower than they did last time.  I feel really good about his advice because it is giving us a little more control over things than we had last time; however, I was eight days early with Jaxson, so who’s to say that I don’t go eight or ten days early with this one, which then puts the plans for an induction out the window.  If I could hold out until the induction date, it would also calm my fears about what we are going to do with Jaxson.  With an induction date and time set, I could have somebody arranged to come stay with him, instead of calling someone at the last minute, while in labor, and hoping that we can still get to the hospital on time.  I guess we’ll just have to wait and see. Oh, the excitement is never ending.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Belinda
    Sep 18, 2009 @ 15:35:53

    Where’s the most recent pregnancy belly picture?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

