H1N1, Potty Training, Pregnancy, Haircuts, Etc. . .

So I’m already finding less and less time to blog like I used to and the new baby isn’t even here yet.  It seems to be down to about once a week now if I’m lucky, so I find that it’s just easiest if I combine everything into one post.  I’ll start with pottytraining.  Jaxson is doing excellent with wearing his big boy underwear.  He is pretty much trained for going #1, but about 50% trained for #2.  He is also doing a good job when we are out and about, which is what I was worried about.  We are also skipping diapers at naptime and bedtime, which he’s been dry so far.  We’re keeping our fingers crossed.  Now onto H1N1. . . Brad is home this week with a fever, chills, headache, and bodyaches.  Since we are assuming that he has H1N1, I now have to take Tamiflu to protect me and the baby.  Yes, all three of us did get the vaccine; however, I really believe that Brad’s case is so mild because he did get the shot.  It’s kind of like the flu shot. . . you can still get the flu after getting the flu shot, but chances are, it will be a milder case of it.  I was very worried about H1N1 getting into our house with me being pregnant.  When I asked my midwife what her opinion/recommendation was regarding the vaccine, she told me about the latest study that was out just on pregnant women and the virus.  The study looked at 100 women with the virus.  The end result was that 36 out of the 100 died from the virus.  Uh hello, that’s more than 1/3 of the pregnant population.  That is what convinced me to get the vaccine.  Other than trying to avoid getting H1N1, the pregnancy is going OK.  I feel pretty good most of the time, but then I sit down on the floor to play with Jaxson and I find it very hard to get up and when I do get up I am VERY sore.  I’m now 33 weeks along, with six weeks to go.  WOW, can’t believe it!  It’s still hard to believe that we are going to have an infant in the house again.  I think Jaxson is going to do great with him, but I’m worried about how I’m going to handle both boys and try to give Jaxson the attention that he needs/deserves.  I’m sure we’ll figure it out along the way.  Now onto haircuts.  I’m always on the lookout for ways that I can save money.  I was taking Jaxson to get his haircut about every six weeks, which would cost me around $12 each time.  Now I know that’s not much; however, when I came across a very nice home haircutting set at Costco for $25, I couldn’t pass it up.  Tonight was the first time I broke out the clippers and I have to say that I’m pretty impressed with myself.  Now I will say that I won’t be giving up my day job as a stay at home mom or nurse, but I will be saving us a little more money every few weeks 🙂

32 weeks prego

Before the haircut

He loves getting his haircut.  Can you tell?

Oh boy, the first cut.

After

Leave a Reply

