Christmas 2009

Once again I feel that we had a wonderful Christmas blessed with time with family.  Our Christmas fun started on Wednesday when Mom and Mike came to stay with us a little earlier than planned because of the bad storm that was predicted.  Although it never really got that bad here in DM, it was pretty bad in Hubbard with ice.  Wednesday night we went out for supper at Legends and then went to the pet store to pick out some fish for Jaxson to celebrate being 100% potty trained.  He picked out three glofish that are pretty cool and glow in the dark.  He’s pretty proud of them and we are very proud of him.  Yay to no more diapers. . . for a week or two anyways 🙂  On Christmas Eve we went to church at our church and was once again blown away by the message and the music.  We even got to hear Simon Estes sing “O Holy Night,” which was fabulous.  You know it’s something great when there are a few thousand at each service and it takes you 20 minutes to get out of the parking lot.  We feel so blessed to have such a great church and pastors that are focused on the true love of our Lord and are able to preach it in such a way that we get it and it inspires us to live it.  After church we came home and enjoyed some family time and had fun decorating Christmas cookies.  Mom and I made chili and cheeseburger soup for supper, which was yummy and perfect for the crappy weather that we were having.  After supper we had fun watching everyone open presents.  All of us must have been very good this year, as we all got some great and thoughtful gifts.  On Christmas morning it was the adults that were up first and anxiously waiting for Jaxson to wake up so that he could see what Santa had brought him.  He thought it was pretty cool that Santa had eaten most of the cookies and the milk that he put out for him.  He was also very excited that Santa had brought him the rocket ship that he’s been asking for for two months now.  I’m also very excited to use the gift certificate for a pedicure that my wonderful husband got for me.  Now if I can just get that in before Holden comes, I will have the best looking toes on the maternity ward 🙂  Mom and Mike had to leave Christmas morning to try and get home so that they could spend Christmas with my Grandma in Eldora.  Luckily they made it there safely after driving through every type of winter weather on the way.  We were sad that we didn’t get to see Papa and Nana Cathcart on Christmas Day as they had been planning on coming down; however, with the weather the way that it was, it was best that they stay close to home.  We also look forward to having Christmas with my dad and Brenda in January after Holden arrives.  I like that we are able to keep Christmas going for a little while longer.  On Christmas night, we went over to our neighbor’s, Matt and Ann’s, for supper.  Ann made a wonderful meal with salmon and a lamb roast.  I had to go into work Christmas night and was having a great night until I got sick to my stomach around 3:00 this morning.  Don’t worry Ann, it wasn’t your cooking that made me sick 🙂  I wasn’t quite sure if I should head over to the maternity ward or stick it out.  I was having a few more contractions than usual, but nothing impressive, so I decided to wait it out and come home at 7 am.  I feel better after sleeping, but still not “normal.”  So we’ll see what the next couple of days bring.  With it being Christmas time, our patient census always drops pretty low, so I got to stay home tonight since it was my turn and also with what happened last night I didn’t feel too confident about going into work.  Brad and Jaxson enjoyed the day sledding and plan on doing more of that tomorrow.  We hope that all of you had a wonderful Christmas with family and friends and have a very blessed 2010.

Jaxson is making sure that Nana isn’t going to be sick for Christmas.

Simon Estes singing “O Holy Night.”

Kade and Jaxson enjoying “Silent Night.”

Wrestling time

Decorating cookies

and of course eating the frosting

Mike and Mom

Devon, Heath, Tanya and Kade

Oh how I hate pictures when I’m pregnant

Time for presents

Tanya and I got Brandon this cool wall hanging for his house.

Mom and Mike’s big gift

A little snack for Santa.

Somebody likes his new rocket.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Erika Holmes
    Dec 27, 2009 @ 23:00:45

    Sounds like y’all had a wonderful Christmas! Are you getting ready for d-day? Only days away… you still look great though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

